Wish it So

Being a hero is a full-time gig

Leave a comment

Image

I’m sorry I’ve been missing some of the daily posts.  I was sick last week and now I’m just dragging!  I’ll make it up to you by admitting something that will solidify your belief that yes, “this woman is nuts!”

I was in the break room at work, dumping the water out of my steam clean bag (for my pump parts).  I briefly looked up and noticed the clock on the microwave was counting down but the microwave itself was not “on”.  Freaky, right?  

I let it get down to 35 seconds before I go FULL ON crazy.  I decide that it’s definitely a bomb and I have to get the hell out of there.  I book it towards my managers office.  In the process, I bump into my co-worker who is heading into the break room.  Now, a good human being might say, “Hey, I think there is a bomb in there”.  I was not capable of coherent thoughts, which is obvious by my choice of safety location.  

I get to my managers office and wait a few seconds.  Weird, we should have all been blown to smithereens by now.  I wait a few more seconds and head back to the break room.  The microwave was back to its regular settings.

I did confess to my co-worker and her first question was “…and you were going to let me die?”

I’m going to have to rethink my approach in the event that I’m ever in a situation like that (lets hope that never happens).  Because I don’t want to be known as the girl who barely saved herself and definitely didn’t save any of her co-workers or friends.  

Leave a Reply

