Wish it So

Seeing myself

2 Comments

Last week I was adventuring around Brattleboro with my mother-in-law.  It proved to be a thought provoking trip when she turned to me and said “You don’t think you are a good writer, you think you do poorly at your job and you don’t think of yourself as a good mother.  What is there in your life that you do believe you are good at or something that you believe in yourself about?”  

I laughed it off, “I’m good at listing things on eBay!”

The thing is, I’m not sure I’ve ever believed in myself or my capabilities in a way that stands out or is reflective to other people.  Like any normal person I believe I do an adequate job in all of the mentioned categories.  But I never feel like the kind of person can just come right out and say “Hey, I’m really good at…”

I’ve met people who believe in themselves and seriously, kudos.  Sometimes I wish I were you!  I would love to be the kind of person who is able to give themselves props on a deeper level than I do.  

I feel like I’m always changing and trying to adjust to my surroundings and this is just one of those things.  I’m going to work harder at believing in myself and my capabilities.  In a way where I might actually be able to take a compliment without “pish posh” ing it away!  Did I just make that up?

But I want to know, am I alone here?  Am I really in the minority of people who can’t see themselves the way others see them?  

2 thoughts on “Seeing myself

  1. Definitely not alone! But you do deserve to give yourself more credit… from what I can tell you’re an amazing mom who thoroughly dotes on her beautiful babies & does everything to ensure they know they are loved & just how special they are… seems as though you’re the same way with your dearest friends… takes a lot to be that kind of person.

    • I hope that I am that kind of person! I think I work really hard on the kind of mom I want to be to the girls and the kind of person I am as a whole but I don’t know that it’s always the case. Thanks for being so kind 🙂

Leave a Reply

