Wish it So

Crockpot Adventures: Sweet and Sour Chicken

2 Comments

I’ve been busy with school, as in, trying not to fail school and my life!  I’m only taking two classes but I find it impossibly hard to get homework done on my evenings off of school/work because I actually get to see my husband AND daughter at the same time when they are both wide awake!  I think I’ve probably mentioned it before.

I miss my lil’ ol’ blog though and my husband keeps suggesting I write something.  Lucky for you and not so lucky for me I’ve been sick for over a week.  Three different illnesses within 7 days.  I know, WHAT?!

I’ve been crockpottin’ it UP in here so I figured I would share a recipe I used (with a couple of changes..) on the 1 day I felt 87% this week!

Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe found here

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 3/4 c. ketchup
  • 1/2 c. white vinegar apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 c. brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • dash red pepper flakes or ground cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/2 c. chicken broth
  • 6 boneless chicken breast halves, skin removed *mine was frozen!
  • 1 can (8 ounces) pineapple chunks, drained
  • My addition:  1 macintosh apple diced w/skin
  • My addition:  1/2 pound of baby carrots (whole)

Preparation:
Wash apples and carrots and place in slow cooker.  Wash chicken; pat dry. Place chicken in slow cooker on top of carrots and apples. Combine melted butter, ketchup, vinegar, brown sugar, Worcestershire sauce, minced garlic, salt and pepper, hot pepper, chicken broth; pour over chicken. Cover and cook on LOW for 5 to 7 hours High for 6 hours, until chicken is tender but still moist. Add pineapple and cook for 20 minutes longer. Serves 6.
    I used frozen meat for the first time in the slow cooker and worried it might come out funky or maybe too dry in the end but it was nice and juicy despite it!
      I made mine with a side of roasted potatoes:
      • 2lb bag of Small golden potatoes > quartered > with skins
      • Olive oil
      • Zeus seasoning 
      Also, as an FYI, I only nixed the garlic because my father-in-law doesn’t like it and I wanted to see how it tasted before I made it for my in-laws.  I nixed the pepper flakes because I’m not a big spicy fan!  I also opted out of the pineapples because I was hoping my sister would eat some!  She didn’t but the change-up was fun anyway 🙂
        I would have added more carrots and apples but I was cooking for three people.  I’d double both if you’re actually making it to serve 6 people.
            The next day I served it to myself as sort of a stew.  I don’t like the way grilled potatoes taste once reheated (in microwave not oven) so I put a few spoonfuls of potatoes at the bottom and covered it with leftover sweet and sour chicken!  It was very yummy!
              This upcoming week I’m making a cheddar cheese and broccoli soup with a turkey/havarti/avocado/sliced granny smith on ciabatta grilled sandwich.  Drink of choice will be hot cider with cinnamon stick for added flavor.
                Who’s hungry?
                2 thoughts on “Crockpot Adventures: Sweet and Sour Chicken

                1. Yum! This looks positively scrumptious 🙂 MJ

                Leave a Reply

                